Audiobook Review: A Good American

Author: Alex George

Publisher: Penguin, Amy Einhorn Imprint, 2012

Genre: Historical Fiction

Format: Audiobook (11.5 hours) Narrated by Gibson Frazier

My Rating: A

Disclosure: I received this book courtesy of Penguin, but my opinions are my own.

Summary from AudioFile:

Set against the backdrop of twentieth-century America, A GOOD AMERICAN is a beautiful multigenerational saga of a German immigrant family that settles in Beatrice, Missouri, and becomes an integral part of the town.

Narrator Gibson Frazier does a wonderful job bringing the Meisenheimers’ stories to life. Frazier doesn’t rely on a sonorous voice to beguile listeners. Instead, his strength is in storytelling. He has amazing timing and imbues the author’s words with genuine-sounding emotion. He’s a wonderful match for this family history, which evokes a century of joy and tragedy.

My thoughts:

I loved this story. It is so close to that of my own family. As I listened to the story I pictured my own parents, grandparents and great grandparents in the roles of the Meisenheimer family. Because our country is a nation of immigrants, this story will resonate with so many families and individuals.

The opportunity to be free and the chance to create a better life for themselves is what drove the Meisenheimer family to first come to America, and then to survive. As is normal in all families, there were tragedies created by both internal and external forces. The love of music is what all four generations of the Meisenheimers shared. They explored a full range of musical genres. In addition, the history of the twentieth century as it affected the average family was a constant theme.

Lovers of family sagas will love this story. It’s already one of the best books I’ve read this year.

About Margot

I'm also known as Joyfully Retired. I love to talk. I love to talk about books I've read, movies I've seen, places I've traveled to, people (especially my children and grandchildren), and Food. On the Quirky Girls Read blog I'm trying to read all the books that have won the major awards and then, of course, talk about them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, historical, Posts by Margot and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Audiobook Review: A Good American

  1. BermudaOnion says:

    This sounds like a book I can relate to as well. I’m anxious to read it.

  2. High praise!! This makes me want to add it to my Audible.com account right now…which of course, I will! 😀

  3. Great book review and A Good American really sounds like a good book to read!

  4. JoAnn says:

    Family sagas have long been a personal favorite and it sounds like this one really resonated with you, Margot. A Good American is on my audio wish list already, but now I’m moving it to the top!

Leave a Reply

