An Award Winner: A Ball For Daisy

Author:  Chris Raschka

Publisher: Schwartz & Wade

Copyright date: May 2011

Pages:  36

Genre: Children’s picture book

Reason for Reading: I love the Caldecott winners.

Rating: A

Every year the American Library Association takes a look at childrens books published the previous year. They present medals and honorable mentions to the best of the best. There are awards for the best childrens book, best young adult, and the best picture book. The last one is the one I want to tell you about today.

Children’s picture books are extremely important, in my opinion. They are the books that can foster a life-long love of reading, as well as stir the imagination. The best way for a child to experience or “read” one of these books is to be in the center of a loved one’s lap, their arms around them or holding the book. There are no words in these books, so all the person reading te book has to do is ask simple questions such as, “What do you see?” or “What’s happening now?” The creativity that pops out will blow your mind and assure you that the future is secure.

This award is called the Caldecott Medal. The 2012 award was presented to Chris Raschka for A Ball for Daisy. This is the tale of Daisy, a sweet, fun loving dog. The story is told through light and airy drawings. Daisy is such a cheerful little dog that he will capture everyone’s heart.

As you can see from the first double page of the book above, Daisy’s ball is one of his favorite toys. As the story progresses, we see that something bad happens to Daisy’s ball. It’s an easy transition to talk about the loss a child may have experienced. I won’t tell you the rest of the story, but I will tell you that it ends well.

Over the years I’ve enjoyed reading almost all of the Caldecott winners. They are so refreshing for all readers no matter what the age. Of course, it’s best to experience these books with a small person, but I’ve read them by myself. Almost every library will have them. To see my review of last year’s winner, go here: The Lion and the Mouse by Jerry Pinkney

About the author:

Chris Raschka is the author/illustrator of more than 30 books and many of them have won awards. His Yo! Yes? was a Caldecott honor winner and Hello, Goodbye Window was the medal winner in 2007. For more about Chris there is a great feature on his inspiration for creating a book at the Teachers sectuion of Scholastic.

What is your experience with picture books? Have you read any of Chris Rachka’s books?

About Margot

I'm also known as Joyfully Retired. I love to talk. I love to talk about books I've read, movies I've seen, places I've traveled to, people (especially my children and grandchildren), and Food. On the Quirky Girls Read blog I'm trying to read all the books that have won the major awards and then, of course, talk about them.
This entry was posted in Award Winners, Posts by Margot. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to An Award Winner: A Ball For Daisy

  1. BermudaOnion says:

    You’re so right about picture books! They’re also a great place to start teaching colors, sounds, etc. This one looks adorable!

  2. Running a day care for little ones (all under 3, right now) we’re big picture book fans. I have not read anything by this author before but after seeing the pages of this book I’m going to have to soon. This is just adorable.

  3. stacybuckeye says:

    I hould probably start collecting all the Caldecott winners for Gage’s library 🙂 He does like books but since he’s started walking it’s hard to get him to stand or sit still for more than a few pages at a time. I take 5 or 10 minutes after each meal to read when he’s still in the high chair, but that time will be coming to an end soon.

  4. kaye says:

    yup–it’s perfect

  5. Staci@LifeintheThumb says:

    I love this book..so simple yet wonderful!

Leave a Reply

