Announcing the Independent Literary Award Winners

Last Fall I told you about the Independent Literary Awards. As you may recall, these awards are unique. These awards are the ones that the readers, the book bloggers nominate. This has been the second year for the awards.

The books are nominated and awarded in seven different categories: Fiction, Mystery, NonFiction, GLBT, Poetry, Biographies/Memoirs, and Speculative Fiction. And, the winners are in!!

2011 Indie Lit Award Winners

Biography/Memoir

  • Winner: Little Princes by Conor Grennan
  • Runner-Up: Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother by Amy Chua

GLBTQ

  • Winner: Nina Here Nor There: My Journey Beyond Gender by Nick Krieger
  • Runner-Up: Huntress by Malinda Lo

Fiction

  • Winner: Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones
  • Runner-Up: Dance Lessons by Aine Greaney

Mystery

  • Winner: A Trick of the Light by Louise Penny
  • Runner-Up: Fun and Games by Duane Swierczynski

Non-Fiction

Winner: Lost in Shangri-La by Mitchell Zuckhoff

Runner-Up: Berlin 1961 by Frederick Kempe

Poetry

  • Winner: Catalina by Laurie Soriano
  • Runner-Up: What Looks Like an Elephant by Edward Nudelman

Speculative Fiction

  • Winner: Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
  • Runner-Up: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Have you read any of the winning books?

Did you participate in the awards?

About Margot

I'm also known as Joyfully Retired. I love to talk. I love to talk about books I've read, movies I've seen, places I've traveled to, people (especially my children and grandchildren), and Food. On the Quirky Girls Read blog I'm trying to read all the books that have won the major awards and then, of course, talk about them.
This entry was posted in Award Winners, Bookish Thoughts, Posts by Margot. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Announcing the Independent Literary Award Winners

  1. BermudaOnion says:

    I’ve got quite a few of the books but have only read 3. Oddly enough, I’ve read both of the speculative fiction winners.

    • Margot says:

      This list is a great to-read list for many book lovers. I remember your review of Ready Player One. I put it on my to-read list because of your review, even though that’s not my kind of story either. I’m eager to dig into these books.

  2. kaye says:

    I’ve not read any of these books or voted for any. But it’s nice to know the people who read the books get a say.

  3. Debbie says:

    I was thrilled to see that Trick of the Light by Louise Penny won first place for mystery. I have read all of her books and they keep getting better with each new book. I highly recommend her books.

  4. hmsgofita says:

    I’ve heard of half of them. Need to move some of these to the top now. THanks for letting me know about these readers choice awards!

  5. stacybuckeye says:

    I haven’t read any of these although a few are already on my wish list. I like that they are voted on by actual readers.

Leave a Reply

