Book vs. Movie: Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy

Title: Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy

Author: John Le Carre

Narrator: Michael Jayston

Publisher: Penguin Group USA

Format: Audio Book

Film/Director: Tomas Alfredson

Cast: Gary Oldman, Colin Firth, John Hurt, Tom Hardy, Mark Strong

DVD Release: 3/20/12

Grade: Audio book–B- / Film–A+

Disclosure: I received a review copy of the audio book from Penguin Group. The opinions expressed in this film are strictly my own, and I received no compensation for this review.  I purchased my own copy of the DVD.

The Book: I strongly suspect I might have scored the book more highly had I been reading it rather than listening to it. It goes back and forth between present and past, and can be hard to follow in an audio version. The narration is splendid. It very much caught my attention right off the bat. I liked it enough that I plan to purchase it for my e-reader and give it a go.

The Movie: The movie has strengths that the audio book lacks in regard to being able to follow whether a scene is set in the past or in the present. So that alone bumps the score up higher. The cast is absolutely stellar. Gary Oldman in the role of Smiley is very compelling, as is John Hurt’s Control. I wonder how I would have perceived the movie had I not listened to the book first–it was interesting watching my husband try to figure things out, but he wandered off to take care of something else and missed quite a bit of it.

One thing that I loved how the way the movie handled it was Smiley’s estranged wife, Ann. She’s a character in the novel only in how Smiley and others have perceived her, how they remember and talk about her. In the movie we see her back, but we never once get to see how she really feels or what she really knows about anything. It was brilliantly done.

Book vs. Movie? I can’t believe I’m saying this, but Movie. All the way.

About a thinker

I am. And today, that's good enough.
This entry was posted in Posts by Faith, thriller and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book vs. Movie: Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy

  1. Trisha says:

    I’ve been wanting to read/watch this for some time, but you have me convinced now! There are so few book-movie combos where the movie is better. I have to see it now.

  2. I found the movie difficult to follow – one I would need to watch more than once to understand all that is going on. Without having read the book first, even with the movie I had some trouble figuring out when things were happening. By the end of the movie I pretty much had things figured out, but it was difficult to get into for me.

    • Julie, interesting point. I wonder if perhaps my being confused through the audiobook made the movie easier to follow. Joe did have a little trouble following what portion of the movie he watched, until I finally told him that whenever he saw John Hurt, it was a scene from the past. Maybe you would actually enjoy the book more because of that? If you decide to read it, please stop back by and let us know what you think. It’s always fun hearing others’ opinions of something I’ve read/watched. Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

