Audiobook: Chasing Midnight

Author: Randy Wayne White

Publisher: Penguin Audiobooks, March 2012

Narrated by: George Guidall

Summary from the publisher:

It began peacefully enough, on one of Florida’s private islands.

At a reception hosted by a notorious Russian black marketeer, Doc Ford uses darkness, and his friend Tomlinson, as cover to get an underwater look at the billionaire’s yacht. By the time Ford surfaces, everything has changed.

Environmental extremists have taken control of the island. Or are they thugs hired by the Russian’s competitors? Whatever the motive, they have herded everyone together and threatened to kill one hostage every hour until midnight unless their demands are met-at which point they will just blow everybody up.

Electronic jammers make communications with the outside world impossible. The only hope of avoiding terrible consequences: The militants do not know Ford’s capabilities, or that he is still on the loose. But that situation won’t last for long . . . and the clock is ticking.

My thoughts:

This is the 19th novel by Randy Wayne White but it’s the first one for me. I’m sure most of you are ahead of me on this one, but I really like Doc Ford, the main character. He’s a marine biologist but he doesn’t stick just to science. He seems to have a lot of experience fighting those bad guys who operate under the radar.

This is a very good, compelling thriller. There was a big boat chase that rivals a top-rated car chase. I’m not the target audience for this type novel but my husband sure is. I passed the book on to him and he really liked the uniqueness of Doc Ford. And, yes, he loved the boat chase.

We listened to Chasing Midnight thanks to Penguin Audiobooks, The narrator, George Guidall, brought the story alive, and made it move so fast. Highly recommend you listen to this book.

About Margot

I'm also known as Joyfully Retired. I love to talk. I love to talk about books I've read, movies I've seen, places I've traveled to, people (especially my children and grandchildren), and Food. On the Quirky Girls Read blog I'm trying to read all the books that have won the major awards and then, of course, talk about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Audiobook: Chasing Midnight

  1. BermudaOnion says:

    This sounds good, boat chase and all! (I’m not a fan of those chases in books or movies, but my husband is.)

  2. kaye says:

    this does sound good.

  3. Staci@LifeintheThumb says:

    I’m always looking for great audio books!!! This may be one my husband would let me have on during a road trip!

  4. Debbie says:

    George Guidall is an excellent reader. I am not surprise he brought the story alive.

  5. stacybuckeye says:

    I think the first one of this series is already on my wish list!

Leave a Reply

