First Paragraph: Saturday by Ian McEwan

Diane at Bibliophile By the Sea asks us to share the first paragraph of a book we are reading. As you can see it’s called First Chapter, First Paragraph Tuesday Intros. As readers we are often captivated or turned away by that first paragraph or two. Let’s see what you think about the first paragraph of my current read.

I’m reading the James Tait Black award-winner, Saturday by Ian McEwan. The first paragraph is a bit long that I’m sharing just half of it.

Some hours before dawn Henry Perowne, a neurosurgeon, wakes to find himself already in motion, pushing back the covers from a sitting position, and then rising to his feet. It’s not clear to him when exactly he became conscious, nor does it seem relevant. He’s never done such a thing before, but he isn’t alarmed or even faintly surprised, for the movement is easy, and pleasurable in his limbs, and his back and legs feel unusually strong. He stands there, naked by the bed – he always sleeps naked – feeling his full height, aware of his wife’s patient breathing and of the wintry bedroom air on his skin. That too is a pleasurable sensation. His bedside clock shows three forty. He has no idea what he’s doing out of bed; he has no need to relieve himself, nor is he disturbed by a dream or some element of the day before, or even by the state of the world. It’s as if standing there in the darkness, he’s materialised out of nothing, fully formed unencumbered. He doesn’t feel tired, despite the hour or his recent labour, nor is his conscience troubled by any recent case.

What do you think? Would you keep on reading?

About Margot

I'm also known as Joyfully Retired. I love to talk. I love to talk about books I've read, movies I've seen, places I've traveled to, people (especially my children and grandchildren), and Food. On the Quirky Girls Read blog I'm trying to read all the books that have won the major awards and then, of course, talk about them.
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Posts by Margot. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First Paragraph: Saturday by Ian McEwan

  1. I like that intro, as it is very different. Several years ago I recall trying to listen to the audio version and it wasn’t working for me, but maybe trying the print version would be better?? Hope you love it.

  2. Fascinating….I do enjoy McEwan’s books, with their probing descriptions into the mundane aspects of each character. I do want to read this one. I have Amsterdam, another of his books, on my Kindle….waiting.

    Here’s MY TUESDAY MEMES POST

  3. McEwan is a great writer. I’d keep reading. In fact,I think this one is on my shelf…

  4. Amy says:

    I would definitely continue reading. This paragraph is fascinating and I want to know what’s going on here. I haven’t read a lot of McEwan’s books but I’ve liked the ones I have read. They’re short but intense and powerful. McEwan tend to make me look at my life, check myself…
    Love this choice!

  5. kaye says:

    gripping . . . I’d keep reading. How was your Easter?

Leave a Reply

