First Paragraph: The Mermaid In the Basement

Diane at Bibliophile By the Sea asks us to share the first paragraph of a book we are reading. As you can see it’s called First Chapter, First Paragraph Tuesday Intros. As readers we are often captivated or turned away by that first paragraph or two. Let’s see what you think about the first paragraph of my current read.

I’m reading our book club choice, Mermaid In the Basement by Gilbert Morris. I’m only into it about 20 pages. It’s a historical mystery novel and is the first in a series. Here’s the first paragraph from the first chapter. Tell me what you think.

As Clive Newton made his way along Drury Lane headed for the Old Vic Theatre, he felt the rush of excitement that alwauys came when he attended any of Kate Fairfield’s performances. As he crossed the intersection, the cobblestones were still gleaming from the light evening rain. He tossed a halfpenny to the crossing sweeper; a small boy who swept awayu manure and mud. The boy bit the coin, then gave Clive a snaggledtoothed grin. “Thankee, sir!”

A woman wearing a revealing dress, her face appeared out of the shadows. She attached herself to Clive’s arm and winked at him. “Come along wif me, husband. I’ll show yer a good time.” Shaking his head, Clive moved away, followed by the harlot’s curse.

What do you think? Would you keep on reading?

About Margot

I'm also known as Joyfully Retired. I love to talk. I love to talk about books I've read, movies I've seen, places I've traveled to, people (especially my children and grandchildren), and Food. On the Quirky Girls Read blog I'm trying to read all the books that have won the major awards and then, of course, talk about them.
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Posts by Margot. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to First Paragraph: The Mermaid In the Basement

  1. This one did capture my attention…thanks for sharing! Here’s MY TUESDAY MEMES POST

  2. Betty Hines says:

    Yes, I would read on. It sounds interesting to me. Grabs my attention.

  3. Sounds good! I would keep on reading.

  4. izzybella says:

    I would keep reading I think. The author creates a nice atmosphere-good place to start!

  5. kaye says:

    a story that begins with a curse is always intriguing. enjoy your book.

Leave a Reply

