Book Review: A Touch of Ice

Product DetailsTitle: A Touch of Ice (an Everly Gray Adventure)

Author: L.J. Charles

Format: Kindle

Reason for Reading: It was free, to begin with. And then it was good, so that’s why I kept reading it.

Cold, bony fingers dug into my shoulders, shaking me. “Everly? Everly Gray?”

The old woman? Panic zinged through me and my eyes popped open. Shelly Summers. Client. Young. Coaching appointment. “What the hell–?”

Shelly’s breath whooshed out, drowning me in the scent of peppermint and apprehension. “You’re okay, right? It was just a spell of some kind, like an epileptic thing? You should have told me this could happen, that you flipped out sometimes. A girl likes to be prepared for something like this, you know.”

I’d reduced my client to a babbling heap of nerves. And then there was me. No telling how long it would take me to recuperate from …whatever the hell that was. I reached for my bottle of water, the trembling in my fingers visible. Client session. Professional. Get. It. Together, Everly. I chugged several gulps of the life-giving liquid, knowing I had to act normal and complete Shelly’s session. “I’m fine, Shelly. Honestly, it was just one of those deja vu moments. We were discussing your–“

 

Everly Gray has the magic touch. Literally. When she touches people, she sees what they have been doing, what they’re thinking, what they’re planning. Her best friend Violet knows about her gift, but so far she’s managed to keep it a secret from everyone else. She uses it carefully, to help her clients, but otherwise, well, no one knows. Then one morning at the beach she deliberately stumbles into the arms of a really hot photographer. That decision leads her to earth-shattering events, say, getting involved in murder and the mob, and narrowly escaping with her life. But escape she does, and her life is forever changed.

My thoughts:  I love the whole getting free books for my kindle. I hope that it pays off for the authors as much as I theorize it does. Here’s the thing. See, if I “buy” a book for free, and I like it, then I go see what else that author has written, and I buy follow-up books for money. But if I don’t like it, I’m not out anything but a little time. This means that I know there is a follow-up novel, A Touch of TNT (An Everly Gray Adventure), because I just bought it and am eagerly waiting to read it. Maybe a nice long session in my tub? I’m just saying.

I loved the book. I’m not much on romance, as anyone who knows me can attest, and I definitely appreciate that Charles didn’t go into great walloping details about teh sex. I know people have sex, but I don’t go watching them, and don’t enjoy reading them. I’m perfectly content to know that the characters are all hot and bothered, and then they go into the room and shut the door, and what they do is their business, not mine.  Charles handled it beautifully, for someone like me.

Grade: A+

About a thinker

I am. And today, that's good enough.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Posts by Faith, thriller and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Review: A Touch of Ice

  1. Emma says:

    Everly Gray is an awesome name. Book cover is cute and it sounds like a good story.

  2. First I’d like to thank Quirky Girls for reviewing a Touch of Ice. It means a lot to me that you take the time to do thoughtful reviews. And I’m thrilled that you now have a copy of a Touch of TNT. I hope you enjoy the read.

    Emma…I’m so happy you like Everly’s name. I spent weeks pouring over baby name books before I decided “who” she was. Now I can’t imagine calling her anything else.

    L. j.

    • thebumbles says:

      It never occurred to me that an author would use a baby name book for their character the way expectant parents do for their baby-to-be! Makes perfect sense though – if the character hasn’t come to you already named, what better way to seek one out.

      And Chaucerian Girl – you make me laugh and laugh. I like the characters to go about their own business behind closed doors too ;0)

Leave a Reply

