Book Review: Vegan Pie in the Sky

Book Cover Image: Vegan Pie in the SkyName of Book: Vegan Pie in the Sky
By: Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero
Publisher: Da Capo Lifelong Books
Copyright Date: October 2011
Format: cookbook
Reason for Reading: because I ❤ Isa and Terry
Source: it was gifted to me
Rating: A++

 

The Gist:

Isa and Terry complete their trifecta of pint-sized dessert books with a pie edition. It has fruit pies, harvest pies, cheesecake pies, and chocolate pies, not to mention cobblers and tarts. Isa and Terry strike pie gold, not that I’d expect anything less.

My Thoughts:

I was delighted to find this little sucker in my stocking. As B and I observe both Solstice and Christmas, I was able to put this book to immediate use for the holidays. The first recipe on the list was the pumpkin pie cheesecake. The picture looks absolutely delectable. And I will admit to having big doubts that my efforts would live up to my expectations. I am very much a novice pie baker. I can barely get a cobbler together. My efforts at pies usually are somewhat disappointing. However! Isa and Terry guide the novice with a well practiced hand, laying out all the handy tools and ingredients in a section of their own, and peppering little tips and tricks throughout. Who knew the key to preventing cheesecake cracking was a pan of water in the oven with the pie. (Who knew, for that matter, that cheesecake was in danger of cracking?)

I devoured all the recipes in mere spaces of time, wanting to try every.single.one. I was excited about hand pies! Cheesecake pies! Fruity pies! I promptly ordered mini cookie cutters, a tart pan and pie weights. In hindsight a pie shield should have been included in that list.

Brownie Bottom Peanut Butter Cheesecake

The recipes themselves  have lived up to the Isa and Terry standard. They are fantastically delicious. The pumpkin cheesecake? It turned out almost exactly like the picture and tasted divine. It was a hit at Christmas dinner, even with my lemon-loving father-in-law. The second pie recipe I tried was the blackberry brambles pie. Seriously, this was my first time EVAR making my own pie crust FROM SCRATCH. Usually I cheat and just buy one and pour in my handmade filling.  I admit to feeling very intimidated and perhaps a bit petrified, but I did it. I had to make some substitutions since I didn’t buy enough blackberries nor did I have blackberry liqueur on hand, however, I did have some white chocolate liqueur and strawberries hanging around. My pie crust (barely) held and I managed to cut out cute star shapes. And the pie? Seriously, this is the best pie I’ve ever eaten. It was sooooo good. The crust was buttery and flaky and so freaking tasty. The fruity interior was decadent paired with the nommy crust. (I’m not gonna lie, B and I ate half the pie, half the pie, in one sitting). After that outstanding achievement I was ready to fully flex my pie making muscles. I made the brownie bottom peanut butter cheesecake for B’s birthday. It was so vulgarly good that I made it again a week later in addition to the Café Mocha Cheesecake for the SAA Challenge.

This book has brought all my pie making dreams come true. So, um, if I haven’t made it clear, Isa and Terry are amazingly awesome. This book is a must have for anyone wanting to create their own delicious confections at home.

Last Words:

It’s pie heaven, people! PIE HEAVEN contained in a cute tiny, portable volume. Isa and Terry strike gold, per usual, raising the bar yet again in the world of vegan baking.

Blackberry-Strawberry Pie

This entry was posted in Cookbooks, Posts by Jehara and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Review: Vegan Pie in the Sky

  1. Sarah says:

    I might have to look into her cookbooks. I’ve been trying a no dairy diet for a couple weeks, and think I feel better because of it, so vegan might be a good thing to add from time to time. Can you tell me, do her recipes (maybe not in deserts, but others) rely greatly on soy? Because after I found out I was lactose intolerant, I found out I was soy intolerant too.

    • jehara says:

      the cheesecake recipes rely on the vacuum-packed tofu. there are plenty of recipes that don’t call for soy. even if they do call for soymilk it’s easy to substitute other nondairy milks such as almond milk or coconut milk. her other cookbooks are pretty diverse. she has lots of really great recipes that use whole foods. some may call for nondairy milk, but again you can sub something for soy. just skip the tofu/tempeh section since those will all be soy related recipes.

  2. Emma says:

    Those pies look so delicious. I recently bought a baking book “Saved by Cake” and I am going to attempt to produce cakes similar to those in the lovely pictures 🙂

Leave a Reply

