An Award Winner: The Good Earth

Author: Pearl S. Buck

Published by:

Copyright date: 1931

Genre: Literature

My Rating: A+

The Good Earth is one of my lifetime-favorite reads. It was a pick for a recent book club. I was surprised that I was the only one to have previously read this great classic. As I suspected, everyone of our club members was enthusiastic about it. So, in case you missed it too, let me tell you about it.

The Good Earth is the story of Wang Lung, a poor farmer in China around the turn of the twentieth century. The story opens on his wedding day to O-lan, a servant he has purchased from a neighboring wealthy family. Life changes immediately for Wang Lung as his wife is organized and a hard worker. She even joins him in the fields, and most importantly, begins bearing him sons.

The fortunes of the Wang family begin to change for the better, and then, the drought hits their part of the country. Even though they have been conservative, their bellies begin to grow hungry. Wang Lung sells everything except the land in order to get enough money to travel south to the big city where they hope to find jobs.

Life in the city is very different for this rural family. Wang Lung finds a job driving a richshaw, but O-lan and the children must beg on the streets. There is growing unrest in the city and soon rioting and looting break out. Both Wang Lung and O-lan profit from this and soon they are heading back home.

The rest of the story follows the ups and downs of Wang Lung and hence the family. He does well and makes good decisions. He also makes some foolish mistakes. Over the course of his life, Wang Lung is faithful to his land. Thus, The Good Earth is a fitting title for this story. The Good Earth is Book One of a trilogy. The story of Wang Lung’s future generations is told in Sons and A House Divided. But don’t despair; the book stands alone as a complete work of fiction.

There are so many things to like about this novel. I find it a good representation of the many foibles found in human nature. The story takes place in China but the behaviors of Wang Lung and his family can be seen all over the world. This is also a good look at the “old” China before the communists came to power. And, of course, the writing is superb. Ms. Buck won the Pulitzer Prize for Literature for this novel in 1932.

For a change of pace, I listened to the audio version of this story. Anthony Heald did an excellent job as the narrator. I strongly recommend The Good Earth.

About the Author:

Pearl S. Buck (1892 – 1973) was the daughter of American missionaries to China. She spent her early years in China and considered this trilogy to be in the tradition of Chinese novels. Although Ms. Buck is well known for The Good Earth, she actually wrote thirty-two novels. In addition to her Pulitzer Prize, Ms. Buck was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1938. The Nobel website has several interesting pages devoted to her. I thoroughly enjoyed reading her speech/lecture she gave in Sweden as part of her acceptance address. You can find it here: Pearl Buck.

About Margot

I'm also known as Joyfully Retired. I love to talk. I love to talk about books I've read, movies I've seen, places I've traveled to, people (especially my children and grandchildren), and Food. On the Quirky Girls Read blog I'm trying to read all the books that have won the major awards and then, of course, talk about them.
This entry was posted in Award Winners, Posts by Margot. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An Award Winner: The Good Earth

  1. jehara says:

    This was required reading for my junior AP literature class. We had to come to class the first day of school with it already read. I have fond memories curled up on the couch the last two weeks of summer reading this. I remember being completely taken in and craving rice every day until I finished it. I really loved this book.

  2. BermudaOnion says:

    I read this in high school and remember loving it. I need to re-read it to bring a new perspective to the story.

  3. kaye says:

    I read this book this year for the first time this year and loved it. (it was also a book club pick).

  4. This is one of my all-time favorites… will consider a listen for my next reread!

  5. Bumbles says:

    Bravo for your enthusiastic support of this Classic! I have not read it yet – seems I am in for a real treat :0)

  6. jennygirl says:

    I’ve always wanted to read this classic. I think it’s on my list. Their trials sound similar to one of the story lines in Hawaii by Michner.
    Perfect post and thanks for the reminder about this classic.

Leave a Reply

