Book Review: The Tower (Deck of Lies)

Book Cover Image: The TowerName of Book: The Tower (Deck of Lies)
By: Jade Varden
Publisher: self-published
Copyright Date: 2012
Format: fiction
Disclaimer: I was given a free copy of this for review; however, my thoughts and opinions are my own.
Source: the author
Rating: B

The Gist:

In addition to attempting to adjust to her new life as a von Shelton, Rain is also working diligently on clearing River’s name.

My Thoughts:

Another enjoyable and easy read. Rain still annoys me at times. She can be so oblivious to things at times. Also, she is still impetuous and acts without thinking, which tends to get her into trouble more often than not. However, I do find the confrontations with Carsyn amusing.  By the end of the book, it seems obvious who did it. However, Varden ends on a cliffhanger, so the reader has to wait to find out if they concluded correctly. Grr! But! The next book is already out, so impatience relieved. J

Varden has quite an imagination. The story seems straightforward, but then it curves and twists so the story continually surprises. And the dysfunction, let me tell you! I love me some dysfunction and there is plenty to be had with the von Sheltons. They are one messed up family. I really enjoyed going down the rabbit hole with Rain as she discovers secret after secret.

While I am enjoying the story, sometimes I get a bit lost with all of the specific references to the von Shelton wealth. I understand that it is used to distance Rain from her new family and show how out of place she is. I have little concept of what designer clothes look like aside from recognizing the names and such.

Last Words:

Great followup filled with mystery and revealed secrets. There’s more to come in the third and fourth installments.

This entry was posted in Fiction, Posts by Jehara and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

