In Which Faith Gives Away a Book and Does a Brief Review

First things first: I had two comments last week, and Emma Meade is our winner! Emma, if you will send me your e-mail address, I will send your e-gift cert. Please let me know if you want it from Barnes & Noble or Amazon.

Next. Review. House Haunting by Mary E. Merrell.

Product Details

I got the book free (ereaderiq.com is a great place to get free books for your Kindle). And if you don’t have a Kindle, you can read them on your computer or, I assume, your iPad if you’re fortunate enough to have one. Or your iPhone. I think.

Anyway, I get so many free books that I’m always behind in books I want to read. Of course, if I ever get stuck on a deserted island with a power cord and wifi, I’ll probably be able to read books until I withered away from severe sunburn (unless the deserted island has enough sheltering trees) or dehydration (unless there is also plenty of fresh water). In fact, let’s just say here and now that my deserted island has a lovely house with air conditioning and wifi, and some kind of magical refrigerator/oven/microwave that whenever I open it, the specific food I want is there. And toilet paper. Plenty of toilet paper.

Ahem. Back to the review. House Haunting.

“Rosemary Fernandes, another inept real estate agent.” The words sounded clear in a deep masculine voice.

I slapped my hand over my name badge, ran out of the bedroom and stood in the loft area, breathing hard. My whole body trembled as I looked around. Okay. That was weird and not my imagination. What was going on?

“Who’s here?” I stamped my foot, my heart pounding. I really didn’t expect an answer, but there had to be a reasonable explanation, something to explain the voice I had just heard.

I had thought real estate would be easy. Sell some homes and make a ton of money, but three months into the business I was still struggling. I had shown so many homes I’d lost count. Maybe Blair had followed me here as a joke. He worked with me at the real estate office, and was always up to some mischief. . . .

Had someone followed me into the house? I had the key from the lockbox, so it couldn’t be another agent. A tingling like static electricity covered my whole body and the hair at the back of my neck rose as another rush of freezing cold air flowed around my body.

“You heard me,” a voice whispered in my ear, “don’t be scared. We’re the only ones here.”

“That’s it. I’m out of here.”

“Don’t go, Baby. Stay and chat. I’m harmless. Really.”

Well, it doesn’t take long for Rosemary to realise that a ghost has attached itself to her. Himself, to be precise. Keith Laumer, a real estate agent himself, has been missing for the last 5 years. He has been unable to progress, unable to walk into the light, unable, in fact, to do anything much other than stand at a window of the house Rosemary was viewing, and gaze out over the back yard. Oh, sure, he’d tried to make contact with other people, but until Rosemary happened along, no one had ever responded. In fairly short order, Rosemary finds Keith’s body, interviews everyone she thinks may have been involved in his death, gets herself into mortal peril, meets a really hunky tattoo artist who knows just where he’d put the free tattoo he’s offered her, finds out the truth behind her mother’s death, meets her maternal aunt (whom she almost immediately loathes, and with good cause), solves the mystery of Keith’s murder, and sells a house. That she does all this without getting killed herself is due in large part to Keith and Frank (hunky tattoo artist). I liked it.

I like the characters, particularly Rosemary and Keith, that you’re supposed to like, and loathed the ones you’re supposed to loathe.

The cover, meh. I got the book based on the description, not the cover.

Overall, I’d give it 4 stars out of 5. I liked it well enough that I purchased the second in the series, Curve Appeal (currently $2.99 for Kindle at Amazon). I do hope Merrell will continue the series.

About a thinker

I am. And today, that's good enough.
This entry was posted in Giveaways, Mystery, paranormal, Posts by Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Which Faith Gives Away a Book and Does a Brief Review

  1. Emma says:

    Thanks a mill. It’s emmameade83@hotmail.com
    Amazon please.
    I like the sound of House Haunting.

Leave a Reply

