Hour 11: Book Trailer Mini-Challenge

Edited: Winners are 1. Jessica B of Books a True Story 2. Michelle of True Book Addict. Thanks to everyone for playing!

Wow! Can you believe we are almost to the halfway point? The read-a-thon sure does fly by. It feels like we just started. Sad face.

But! We have more fun, challenges, and reading to look forward to for the next twelve hours so let’s get to it.

For this mini-challenge, take a short break and share a book trailer with us. It could be your favorite book trailer, it can be a trailer of your favorite book, or it can be a trailer for a book you want to read. The possibilities are many. To play, leave a comment with the link to your blog post featuring the trailer or a link to the trailer itself.

This challenge starts at 3pm PST and ends at 6pm PST (hour 11 to hour 14).  Two prizes will be given. One: winner’s choice of book from trailer featured by participants during this challenge and two: a journals are greater than blogs bookmark.

I’ll start by sharing a trailer that was shared the most by participants during the April 2011 version of this mini-challenge.

This entry was posted in Posts by Jehara and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

77 Responses to Hour 11: Book Trailer Mini-Challenge

  1. Pingback: Dewey's Read-a-Thon » Hour 11: Make a Wish!

  2. Christina H says:

    Here’s my entry: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tm7nliQYGGA A great trailer for the third book in Patrick Ness’ Chaos Walking Trilogy, Monsters of Men.

  3. Sarah says:

    Amazing book, and one of the coolest trailers I’ve seen: Forbidden by Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee!

  4. Donna says:

    I love this book series ❤

  5. I loved the Death Cure trailer!
    [embed]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pY_CCeYfzYU[/embed]

  6. Marquetta says:

    Scandalous Desires by Elizabeth Hoyt. This literally made me LOL’d. I love how it doesn’t take itself too seriously.

  7. kattibrie says:

    Nice challenge! 🙂

    Well, that’s a book I (and all the other fans) have been waiting for for years. So I think it deserves this trailer. Haven’t read it yet, though. Waiting the paperback release, cause all my other parts of the series are paperback 😉

  8. Denise says:

    Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter! lol

  9. Sorry, the embed didn’t work. I’ll just leave the link this time:
    Death Cure by James Dashner

    And here’s my blog about it!

  10. Crystal F says:

    Here is mine – Crossed by Ally Condie which I can’t wait for!

  11. Oh, this is definitely an easy one for me – you can see a trailer for a book that I loved at this link below:

    http://alexalovesbooks.blogspot.com/2011/05/book-wishlist-forever-by-maggie.html

    The trailer for Forever by Maggie Stiefvater is so beautiful ❤

  12. Roof Beam Reader says:

    My favorite book trailer is definitely for The Boy with the Cuckoo-Clock Heart by Mathias Malzieu. The song is in French, but I think a translation would ruin the ambience anyway. Hope you all like it too! The book was also unique and delightful – in a bizarre, steampunkery way.

  13. Pingback: 295/365: Dewey’s Read-a-Thon « Just a lil' lost…

  14. stacybuckeye says:

    I don’t really watch book trailers but I love the one you included. Haven ‘t read it but the trailer makes me want to! Happy reading, Jehara!

  15. Pingback: Dewey’s Read-A-Thon: Hour 11 | The Lost Entwife

  16. I am not a big fan of book trailers so for me to actually have one means it must be AWESOME:

  17. Li says:

    This is hands down my favourite book trailer of all time – Mudbound by Hillary Jordan. There’s just this lovely narrative quality I love to it, with a vivid, memorable narrator and haunting music.

  18. Here is my post! I honestly LOVED the creepiness of the book trailer I chose!

    http://thelostentwife.net/2011/10/22/deweys-read-a-thon-hour-11/

  19. Odd Hours! I love all things Odd Thomas:

  20. Mine can be found on my blog below. Thanks for hosting the mini-challenge!

    Jex @ Everything and Nothing

  21. AmandaPearl2 says:

    This is one of my most absolute favorite trailers (i usually think they’re lame but this one is so cool!)

  22. Hey great idea for a challenge!
    Here’s the link to my trailer post –
    http://wall-to-wall-books.blogspot.com/2011/10/10-hrs-down.html

  23. Love this trailer for Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters

  24. I was really impressed by the book trailer for The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland . . .

    I love the drawings, and the song is beautiful and fits perfectly.

  25. heidenkind says:

    Here’s one I thought was really good for The Invention of Hugo Cabret:

  26. stormij says:

    Here is a trailer for Clockwork Prince that I like!

  27. kathrynlouw says:

    You stole my favorite book trailer! I have always loved the trailer for Wither (always being since it came out…) I don’t look at book trailers that often and I can’t think of any others. This one isn’t as good, but still interesting… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zB3AmlIoGjc&feature=related

  28. Kristi says:

    So many good trailers here! (I love The Chemical Garden Trilogy!! – Wither was great!

    Mine is posted here.

  29. cessie says:

    One of my have books:
    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, Mary Ann Shaffer

  30. Alison says:

    My favorite book trailer (I don’t watch many book trailers) has to be Meg Cabot’s funny clip for her novel Runaway. Link is below.

    I don’t know why it cracks me up so much but it’s just so great. =)

  31. Jade says:

    Nice challenge. Mine is posted on my blog but I will post here as well. Blog link: http://sortofbeautiful.com/?p=2144

    Mine is a fan-made vid for The Hunger Games

  32. Kimberly says:

    Stephen the King, Under the Dome . . . it’s in my TBR pile, and I saw that someone was reading it earlier for the readathon. (Let’s see if this works!)

  33. Hmmm… mine is probably the Faustine book trailer by Imogen Rose!

  34. Lucy says:

    Its not the official book trailer… But I love it!!!!!! Love the book too!

  35. Pam says:

    A Monster Calls http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iEX5g6c7ueE I love this trailer greatly.

  36. Kim says:

    I posted mine on my blog here:http://pageafterpage-kim.blogspot.com/2011/10/mini-challenge_21.html
    I don’t know how to embed a video in a comment…do I just put the html here?

    *smiles*

  37. This one! I just found it! Such an awesome book! Hold Me Closer, Necromancer!

  38. Amy says:

    Here’s the trailer for a book I’m considering picking up next…I have no idea how accurate it is, but I think it’s adorable! So everyone else will have to let me know if it’s right, because I think I’m the last blogger to read Anna and the French Kiss!

  39. Here is the link to my favorite book trailer http://butnotascuteaspushkin.tumblr.com/post/11792356324#notes

    Silence by Becca Fitzpatrick

  40. Ariel Wilson says:

    The book trailer for The Healer’s Apprentice is what got me interested in it 🙂

  41. contessa20 says:

    Beowulf, one of my favorite books of all time.

  42. Laura Cline says:

    Here is the book I’m reading….

  43. kristilyn says:

    Highly Inappropriate Tales for Young People – Douglas Coupland

  44. Pingback: Read-A-Thon Hour 11 « Homesteading In The Burbs

  45. Pingback: Dewey's Read-a-Thon » Hour 12: Only 12 More Hours To Go!

  46. stilettostorytime says:

    A must watch!! I absolutely adored the trailer for “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children”. It was so well done it was almost like a professional movie trailer and best of all it made you want to read the book so badly! The book is also a must read!

    Great Mini-Challenge! Happy Read-a-thon!
    Courtney
    Stiletto Storytime

  47. Shirin says:

    Shades of Milk and Honey is on my TBR list, I’m in the reservation queue in my library. I also really love the aesthetics of the trailer with the silhouette shapes.

  48. Pingback: Read-a-Thon Mini-Challenges | Adventures in Borkdom

  49. I couldn’t find the trailer on youtube, which is the only way I know to display videos, so please click on the link!
    Coraline by Neil Gaiman (click link to see trailer)

    I love Neil Gaiman, and here he discusses “the fear of buttons” and how it relates to his book Coraline. I actually know someone who is afraid of buttons.

    Mandy@ Adventures in Borkdom

  50. joyofbooking says:

    My favorites of all time:
    Super Sad True Love Story
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EfzuOu4UIOU

    Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters

  51. Melissa C. says:

    A few of the ones I planned to use were already mentioned. So here is another which is on my TBR pile.

  52. Pingback: Readathon Update: 6 p.m. (Hour 12) « The Joy of Booking

  53. Rayna says:

    I picked The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making. I see someone else did too! Love it!
    http://qemorio.livejournal.com/179735.html

  54. Pingback: Dewey's Read-a-Thon » Hour 13: The Mid-Event Survey

  55. Pingback: Update 24 Hour Read-a-Thon: Hours 11 & 12 – caribousmom

  56. Pingback: 24-Hour Read-a-Thon – Update #5 « Reading in Winter

  57. Here’s mine: http://thetruebookaddict.blogspot.com/2011/10/read-thon-updates.html

    It’s in my update sticky post so be sure to scroll down a bit. Thanks for the fun! 🙂

  58. Kate says:

    I think before now I had seen one-half of one book trailer ever, but I really like this book that just came out earlier this week:

  59. Pingback: Dewey's Read-a-Thon » Hour 14: Also Known as “Pizza Time” In Some Parts of the World

  60. Pingback: Update 24 Hour Read-a-Thon: Hours 13 & 14 – caribousmom

  61. Pingback: Muggle-Born.net | Doing the Dewey: The 24-Hour Readathon

  62. Pingback: Update 24 Hour Read-a-Thon: Hourse 15 & 16 – caribousmom

  63. Pingback: Update 24 Hour Read-A-Thon: Hours 17 & 18 – caribousmom

  64. Pingback: Update 24 Hour Read-a-Thon: Hours 19 & 20 – caribousmom

Leave a comment